Cloud woes

Since moving back to Box as my cloud solution for storing all of my documents (I have a free lifetime 50GB storage plan) I no longer use Amazon Cloud Drive.

I was hoping that I could cancel the 20GB storage plan ($20 per year) I have with Amazon and pay a reduced fee for just music, movies, and other media related items.

However, I just found out that unless you have a 20GB storage plan you will be stuck with a restricted Cloud Player service. The restriction gives you just 250 songs! Even for somebody like me who doesn’t have a whole bunch of music this is quite poor! Sure, it’s free, but I would be happy to pay $10 per year for Cloud Player without the storage 😦

I am only using 485MB of that 20GB right now, so I cannot justify paying $20 for it when I can use Box for free. Now that I know I will lose all but 250 of my songs on Cloud Player I have kick off the process of uploading my music to Google Play, which allows up to 20,000 songs for free.

As we have a Prime account we can stream movies from Amazon. The problem is that we never do because a.) our AppleTV does not have an Amazon app and b.) we already use Netflix 🙂

We could buy a Roku, which supports both Netflix and Amazon in addition to a whole bunch of other online media like Pandora, Hulu, etc.

The reason I am hesitant to do such a thing is because if we want to repurpose the AppleTV device in the bedroom then we will need to upgrade the TV that’s in the bedroom ha ha! So, that would be $79.99 for a Roku 2 XD and then $200-$300 for a 21″ LCD TV w/ HDMI for the bedroom.

Hmm, now that I am thinking about it I may just have a way around this… Watch this space!

Image

Leave a comment