Is the Uber app causing Android to repeatedly crash?

I’m wondering if I am not the only person who has had this issue, but so far I have not found anything online describing the problems that I have been experiencing over the last two days. 

In the one week that I have been overseas I let my app updates stockpile to 22! That’s a heck of a lot of updates for one week, so finally I tapped “Update All” and let the Google Play Store work it’s magic. 

After doing this my phone would just randomly reboot. I witnessed it happen at least a dozen times, but it’s possible it could have rebooted more times whilst sitting in my pocket or back pack. 

I booted my phone into Safe Mode and the issue went away, so now my mind was in Sherlock Holmes mode and I started using the power of deduction to troubleshoot which of the 22 recent updates had royally screwed up my phone!

Luckily I didn’t have to do much!! After rebooting back into regular mode I noticed there were two pending app updates: Google & Uber.  

Under Google it said one week ago, but under Uber it said 13 hours ago. I figured that either a failed Google app update caused it or Uber has very quickly identified and resolved an issue with yet an even newer update. I installed both updates, but the issue continued, so I left my phone alone for the rest of the afternoon. I am on holiday after all!!!

When I started to settle down for the night I noticed that there was another pending update and sure enough it was from Uber. Under the entry it said “Last updated 6 hours ago” and so now I really started to question this app. Of course, I installed the update and unfortunately the issue persisted, so I uninstalled Uber and thus far I have not had any more issues!

Has anybody else experienced this issue on Android? If so, please leave a comment. 

This is the hardware and software that I am using: Google Pixel (5″) running Android 7.1.2. 

Leave a Reply

