Minimalist Plagtech

Gosh darn it I just can’t help myself! I think I have to live with some level of platform agnosticism to prevent myself from going completely crazy!

This time I want to take a different approach though. Yea, yea, you’ve heard it all before, but hear me out please…

Rather than taking the all or nothing approach I am going to figure out what is the bare minimum of platform agnosticism I can accomplish to satisfy all of my technological needs. 

The main reason for the switch is that I am primarily using Windows 7 Enterprise at work and I need all of my bookmarks available. In the past I tried using iCloud sync for Windows, but it wasn’t all that good and it doesn’t sync passwords stored in iCloud Keychain. 

Starting with the very basics I am going switch my browser to Firefox and revive my Firefox Sync account. I will use Firefox for both work and personal use, as it is now available on iOS and is a better alternative compared to Google Chrome on iOS. Firefox is PAT certified and will work better and more consistently than using different browsers on different platforms. 

The second is moving off Apple’s Notes application and back to OneNote. Again, OneNote is PAT certified, as there are native apps for each desktop and mobile platform whereas using the browser on Windows to access Notes via iCloud.com was very clunky. OneNote also has a very cool Apple Watch app too!

So, that’s all the changes for now. There’s no need to go overboard and switch everything up on day 1 because I don’t need absolutely everything to work across all platforms. I need just enough conformity to get by on the different platforms I use without compromising the user experience and my day-to-day workflow. 

Leave a Reply

