Tech ADD

I am 100% convinced that I have Tech ADD, meaning an attention deficit disorder for all things technology! One minute I am all about this browser, that OS, those plugins, these add-ons, this cloud service etc. I just can’t frigging decide, which ones I want to stick to!

Lately I have been on a cloud service binge and have once again switched from iCloud as my primary email, contacts, calendar provider to Gmail and then recently over to Outlook.com. I love Outlook.com, but I know there will be a point where Apple or Google or maybe some brand new provider suddenly does something spectacular that makes me go “Oooooh! I want to use that service now!”. As a result of all of these changes I then change my email address, swearing to all those affected by having to update their contacts list, that this will be the last time I make a change.

Well, a very good friend of mine made a very good suggestion to cure (at least for those affected) this need to switch up providers and change my email address every other week. He-Who-Shall-Not-Be-Named (no, I’m not friends with Lord Voldemort) recommended that I purchase my own private domain and use the email address associated with my domain as my permanent email address. Then, forward emails aimed at my@domain.com address to the cloud service of my choice. Magnifique! I never did this before because I didn’t want to fork out the dollars for a domain, well, when I finally found the domain I wanted it is a mere $12.99, which is not exactly breaking the bank! So for the sake of my sanity (and those around me) spending those dollars will give me one email address that I can use for all of my online accounts and doesn’t tie me into a single ecosystem should I, scratch that, when I decide to switch platforms again.

Also, I have plans to utilize my domain for a private blog that my family can follow. I will also utilize my domain to create an authentication system whereby my family will have an @domain.com login to utilize, so that they can login to the private blog and eventually some private repository of photo’s etc.

Leave a Reply

