I’m Going Wireless

No, don’t get me wrong, I haven’t just discovered the 802.11 Ethernet spec. What I mean by “going wireless” is that the MacBook Air does not have a dedicated Ethernet port and one of the main things for video conferencing from PC/laptop is to have a hardwired Ethernet connection for best results. 

When I am at my desk I typically disable WiFi and plugin in my trusty Cat5e Ethernet cable and not have to worry about my tinfoil hat from causing interference with my Internet connection.

Well, as of today I went completely wireless! Albeit, I did not have any video calls with customers, but everything else worked really well considering the office that I share is in the far corner and doesn’t have the most optimal WiFi reception. 

I’m not sure what the capabilities of the office WiFi AP’s are, but the new MacBook Air comes fully equipped with the latest and greatest 802.11ac spec. Why does this matter? Well, I’ll let this snippet from Wikipedia tell you:

This specification has expected multi-station WLAN throughput of at least 1 gigabit per second and a single link throughput of at least 500 megabits per second (500 Mbit/s). This is accomplished by extending the air interface concepts embraced by 802.11n: wider RF bandwidth (up to 160 MHz), more MIMO spatial streams (up to 8), multi-user MIMO, and high-density modulation (up to 256-QAM).

My day job does not require a super fast gigabit LAN connection, as everything I use is “out there” in the proverbial cloud. Our company uses Google Apps for Business, Box, Salesforce etc. There are three things I need internally and they are: Jira, internal database, and our monitoring system. Despite that, none of these require a gigabit connection. Even at 100Mbps they respond flawlessly. 

 

Leave a Reply

