Mobile Plagtech Dilemma

I’ve been messing around a lot with my iCloud, Gmail, and Outlook.com account setup and I just can’t seem to find the right one without being lured into a fully fledged ecosystem.

It’s pretty clear that if you use Android, then its best to use your Gmail account. Likewise if you use iCloud use iOS and if you use Outlook.com use Windows Phone.

Now, each of these accounts can be stored on their rivals OS, but sacrifices have to be made.

On my iPhone I can sync mail, contacts, calendars, reminders, notes, bookmarks, find my iPhone, etc. all with my iCloud account.

However, when I setup Outlook.com I can only sync mail, contacts, calendars, notes and reminders.

Even worse, with Gmail I can only sync mail, calendars, and notes!

Bookmarks I can sync via my Gmail account by using the iOS version of Chrome, but what if I sync my bookmarks to Outlook.com? There’s no IE for iOS, so you’re left in a pickle.

Its these little things that bug me about ecosystems. I’m sure the same kind of thing would happen if I tried to sync my iCloud account on Android or Windows Phone, so this is not a dig at Apple.

I just don’t see why it has to be this way…

Maybe the only way to be platform agnostic on the mobile front is to use a Yahoo! account…?

I’ll get back to you on that one!

Leave a Reply

