Pinning

Since I have been using Windows 7 for just over a week I noticed some things that I take for granted in OS X.

Power Options!
In Windows I find that if me, as the user, does not switch from “High Performance” to “Power Saver” mode then my battery will die very quickly. This is something that the Mac seems to do seamlessly.

However, I really like Outlook (I am using 2010) for sorting my emails, calendars, and tasks. I also have an Evernote plugin for my Outlook, so that I can instantly convert an email into a note or to-do.

I also really like the pinning feature. In addition to pinning applications to the taskbar you can also pin sub-items within whatever application you have pinned. If that sounds confusing it is because I can’t explain it that well, but in this example (screenshot below), I have pinned the Control Panel to the taskbar. If I right-click on the Control Panel in my taskbar I get a mini menu of all the things in the Control Panel. I can now pin the most frequently accessed items in the Control Panel! In addition to pinning to the task bar you can also pin things in the Start Menu.

Here are the specs of the laptop I am using:

Operating System: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1
System Manufacturer: Hewlett-Packard
System Model: HP Pavilion dv7 Notebook PC
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU       M 430  @ 2.27GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.3GHz
Memory: 4096MB RAM

Image

Leave a Reply

