Operation Transport – Phase 1 Completed

The reason Operation Drano failed is because Linux as a primary desktop OS just didn’t cut it for me. I love to tinker with computers, but for me (at least on my primary machine) the stability of the system has to be perfect.

During the course of the last 5 years I have always dabbled with Linux on a secondary machine and never felt I was quite ready to make the transition full time. However, 2012 looked to change that and I found myself running Linux more and more. In the past 6 months I have looked at:

  • Fedora (GNOME & Xfce)
  • OpenSUSE
  • Ubuntu 10.04 LTS and 12.04 LTS
  • Linux Mint (GNOME & KDE)
  • Kubuntu 12.04 LTS

Kubuntu was looking to be the most promising, but unfortunately even that wasn’t stable enough. Each OS was run on a MacBook Pro, which some may argue is not fair, but then in addition to that there are a lot of work related things I do on my personal computer and so it still needs to support a wide range of applications.

In the end it was becoming clear that Linux wasn’t going to be easily manageable (for me that is) and the Mac is becoming too dumbed down; therefore after an entire decade away from running Windows as my primary OS on my personal machine I have decided to go back to Microsoft.

I am writing this post from a 300GB Windows 8 Pro partition on my MacBook Pro via the Metro Internet Explorer 10.

Windows 8 is absolutely stunning! I know I have only been using it for a couple of hours, but it really is a huge difference. The last time I had this much fun toying with Windows was when Windows 98 was released!

Phase 2 will consist of importing all of my personal files and phase 3 will be to find a solid backup solution.

Time to install the Netflix metro app me thinks!

Leave a Reply

