Cult of Less

Courtesy of @KellySutton I introduce to you, the Cult of Less.

This blog post isn’t tech related, but I thought it would be worth writing. I stumbled across Kelly Sutton’s site a couple of years ago and started my own little Cult of Less project. It was rather successful, but only at the time. I have since discovered, mostly by accident and laziness, that trying to own nothing is harder than letting junk accumulate. Being goal oriented it was fun to say “Get rid of X items by Y date”, but just like normal day-to-day cleaning it is clear that in order to stay true to the Cult of Less one must continue to be aware of the clutter and prevent it from accumulating.

At the end of the day the goal is not to get rid of stuff and never accumulate anything new ever again. That would be silly 🙂

It was great to have that initial purge of all the crap that surrounds me, as the first attempt is most likely going to be the largest. However, the real task is figure out what needs to go when you do start accumulating new items. “Do I need to keep this?” and “What does this new item replace?” are the key questions going forward.

So, even though I don’t have a great deal of new stuff I am giving myself until the end of the year to do another purge. Then, going forward it will be a new years resolution of mine to be mindful of the clutter as the days turn into weeks and the weeks into months.

This week I will put a list together and post it on here then on the weekend I will begin throwing stuff out.

Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

