Virtualization

Since my epic partitioning disaster I believe I am going to take advantage of virtualization a little more 🙂

Seeing as I only use these other OS’s for reproducing customer issues or dabbling with a new distro there is no need to carve out dedicated hard drive space to run a particular flavor of Linux or Windows.

I am lucky to have not lost all three partitions, so I am treating this as a friendly warning. Last night I formatted my hard drive into OS X Journaled format and fully restored it from my Time Machine backup. This means I have recovered all 500GB’s on the MBP hard drive and will utilize the space for virtual hard drives.

Everything I do on the Mac is back to where I left off and now I am installing a Fedora VM as we speak, which I will use for running Wireshark. I will be installing Windows 7 later on tonight.

Leave a Reply

